The Ethereum Community Signs a Petition Calling to Refuse ProgPoW Code Activation

A number of prominent representatives of the Ethereum community signed petition with a call to refuse to activate the ProgPoW code, which is designed to make mining the second most capitalized cryptocurrency on ASIC equipment inefficient.

The ProgPoW proposal (EIP-1057) was put forward in January 2019 and aims to replace the current Ethash algorithm. If adopted, ETH mining will be carried out exclusively on more traditional equipment such as video cards, limiting the influence of ASIC miners.

Many developers and equipment manufacturers, however, consider this proposal hasty, and potentially even lead to a network split.

Now, a petition has appeared on GitHub, in which many other representatives of the community expressed their disagreement with this proposal. According to them, the necessary support for the adoption of ProgPoW is currently not available.

Petition author Justin Leroux from ETHBoston said:

“Ethereum is a global platform with a large and diverse group of key players. For this reason, it is critical that major changes to the protocol have a clear purpose and broad support. EIP-1057 obviously does not have such support, nevertheless, its activation is considered. ”

More than 70 people signed the petition, including representatives of projects such as Uniswap, EthereumDC, Aragon, MolochDAO, Gnosis, DeFi Pulse, ConsenSys, DARMA Capital, Truffle Suite, DeFi Pulse, etc.

“Later this year, Ethereum, through the launch of the Beacon network for ETH 2.0, will begin the transition from proof-of-work consensus algorithm to proof-of-stake. The change of eth1 algorithm at this stage of Ethereum evolution brings a split into the community and carries technical risks, and this happens at a time when our efforts and attention should be directed to other things ”- says the petition.

Recall, at the end of last week, the leading developers of Ethereum announced the agreement reached regarding the activation of EIP-1057 in July this year. Moreover, developer James Hancock said that ProgPoW is one of the “most prepared” proposals for activation. The Sherendé of the Ethereum Foundation, who also insisted on the expediency of activating this proposal, was in agreement with him.

Rate this article
Rocketcrypto

Сообщество Ethereum подписало петицию с призывом отказаться от активации кода ProgPoW

Целый ряд известных представителей сообщества Ethereum подписал петицию с призывом отказаться от активации кода ProgPoW, призванного сделать неэффективным майнинг второй по капитализации криптовалюты на ASIC-оборудовании.

Предложение ProgPoW (EIP-1057) было выдвинуто в январе 2019 года и призвано заменить текущий алгоритм Ethash. В случае его принятия добыча ETH будет осуществляться исключительно на более традиционном оборудовании вроде видеокарт, ограничивая влияния ASIC-майнеров.

Многие разработчики и производители оборудования, однако, считают данное предложение поспешным, а в потенциале даже способным привести к расколу сети.

Теперь на GitHub появилась петиция, в которой свое несогласие с этим предложением высказали и многие другие представители сообщества. По их словам, необходимой поддержки для принятия ProgPoW в настоящий момент нет.

Автор петиции Джастин Леру из ETHBoston заявил:

«Ethereum – это глобальная платформ с большой и разнородной группой ключевых участников. По этой причине критически важно, чтобы крупные изменения в протоколе имели четкую цель и широкую поддержку. EIP-1057 такой поддержки совершенно очевидно не имеет, тем не менее рассматривается его активация».

Петицию подписали более 70 человек, в том числе представители таких проектов, как Uniswap, EthereumDC, Aragon, MolochDAO, Gnosis, DeFi Pulse, ConsenSys, DARMA Capital, Truffle Suite, DeFi Pulse и др.

«Позже в этом году Ethereum посредством запуска сети Beacon для ETH 2.0 начнет переход с алгоритма консенсуса proof-of-work в сторону proof-of-stake. Смена алгоритма eth1 на данном этапе эволюции Ethereum вносится раскол в сообщество и несет с собой технические риски, и происходит это в тот момент, когда наши усилия и внимание должны быть направлены на другие вещие», — говорится в петиции.

Напомним, в конце прошлой недели ведущие разработчики Ethereum заявили о достигнутой договоренности касательно активации EIP-1057 уже в июле этого года. Более, разработчик Джеймс Хэнкок заявил, что ProgPoW — одно из «наиболее готовых» к активации предложений. С ним оказался солидарен и Мартин Свенде из Ethereum Foundation, также настаивающий на целесообразности активации этого предложения.

Оцените статью
RocketCrypto
Добавить комментарий