CPU Mining - A Complete Guide

Most likely you have already thought about how relevant and profitable is mining in 2020 using a processor. To understand this, you need to get a little acquainted with the technical side of this issue.

What is a CPU? This is a chip that provides the main processing power of a computer or other device. Unlike a video card (GPU), which provides graphics tasks. Both of these items of equipment are similar in that both the first and second perform calculations, albeit for different functions. Their differences determine which device is better and more profitable to use for mining.

Differences between mining on CPU and GPU

The differences between the CPU and GPU are that depending on the selected processor clock frequency, which shows the interval between pulses, it can process 4 32-bit, or 8 32-bit computational operations. At that time, the GPU can handle 3150 32-bit calculations. Even multi-core processors lose even to weak and outdated video cards. It turns out that the video card is much more efficient in mining, having a processor hundreds of times more powerful.

As you can see, processors can’t compete seriously with GPUs, but at the very beginning, many miners start using processors until they are ready to seriously invest in mining equipment. When using different algorithms, the speeds will differ, but again you can not compare the speed of the processor and the video card, since they differ by several orders of magnitude and the difference can reach several thousand times.

Mining speed is determined by the hash of the equipment and measured in units of H / s, i.e. a hash. If the hashrate of modern processors is measured in kiloheshes - kH / s, then when we talk about video cards, then these are MH / s (mega-hash) and GH / s (giga-hash). So, in many cases, mining on the processor can even be unprofitable.

Mining processor performance table

ModelSpeed ​​(kh / s)(GHz)Kernels
Xeon X5450223.004
Xeon L3426192.004
Xeon E5620262.004
Xeon E5504422.002x4
Xeon 5160213.00
Core i7-920374.004
Core i7-870413.004
Core i7-860252.004
Core i5-750303.004
Core i5-650183.002

At the very beginning, when cryptocurrencies appeared and they had less encryption complexity, the use of processors for mining could be justified, but now that the encryption complexity has greatly increased and mining on processors continues to grow, it makes no sense. To make money using cryptocurrency mining, you should definitely use video cards. One video card will not help you make any significant money, so it’s worth investing in a whole mining farm.

Rate this article
Rocketcrypto

Майнинг на процессоре CPU – полное руководство

Скорей всего вы уже задумывались о том насколько актуальным и прибыльным является в 2020 году майнинг с помощью процессора. Чтобы разобраться в этом, нужно хоть немного ознакомиться с технической стороной этого вопроса.

Что представляет собой CPU? Это микросхема, которая обеспечивает главные вычислительные мощности компьютера или другого устройства. В отличие от видеокарты (GPU), которая обеспечивает выполнение графических задач. Оба этих элемента оборудования похожи в том, что и первый и второй выполняют вычисления, хотя и для разных функций. Их различия определяют то, какое из устройств лучше и выгодней использовать для майнинга.

Различия между майнингом на CPU и GPU

Отличия между CPU и GPU состоят в том, что в зависимости от выбранной тактовой частоты процессора, которая показывает интервал между импульсами, он может обрабатывать 4 32-битных, или 8 32-битных выполнения вычислительных операций. В то время графический процессор может обрабатывать 3150 32-битных вычисления. Даже многоядерные процессоры проигрывают даже слабым и устаревшим видеокартам. Так получается, что видеокарта является намного эффективней в майнинге, имея в сотни раз большие возможности процессоре.

Как видите, серьёзную конкуренцию GPU процессоры составить не могут, но в самом начале многие майнеры начинают использовать процессоры, пока не будут готовы серьёзно вкладываться в оборудование для майнинга. При использовании разных алгоритмов скорости будут отличаться, но опять же нельзя сравнить скорость процессора и видеокарты, поскольку они отличаются на несколько порядков и разница может доходить до нескольких тысяч раз.

Скорость майнинга определяется хешрейтом оборудования и измеряется в единицах H/s, то есть хеш. Если хешрейт современных процессоров измеряется в килохешах —  kH/s, то когда мы говорим о видеокартах, то это MH/s (мегахеш) и GH/s (гигахеш). Так, во многих случаях майнинг на процессоре может быть даже убыточным.

Таблица производительности процессоров в майнинге 

МодельСкорость (kh/s)(GHz)Ядра
Xeon X5450223.004
Xeon L3426192.004
Xeon E5620262.004
Xeon E5504422.002x4
Xeon 5160213.00
Core i7-920374.004
Core i7-870413.004
Core i7-860252.004
Core i5-750303.004
Core i5-650183.002

В самом начале, когда появились криптовалюты и они имели меньшую сложность шифрования использование процессоров для майнинга могло быть оправданным, однако сейчас, когда сложность шифрования сильно увеличилась и постоянно продолжает расти майнинг на процессорах не имеет смысла. Чтобы зарабатывать с помощью майнинга криптовалют однозначно следует использовать видеокарты. Одна видеокарта не поможет вам заработать сколько-нибудь значительные деньги, поэтому стоит вложиться в целую майнинговую ферму.

Оцените статью
RocketCrypto
Добавить комментарий